2010 and 2011 Award Winners from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

January 13, 2011

in Announcements,Book Awards & Prizes,Breaking News,Children's Picture Books,Publicity,Young Adult

Ship Breaker, Paolo Bagiculp

2011 Best Fiction for Young Adults (Top Ten)

Ship Breaker
Paolo Bacigalupi

HARDCOVER BOOK 9780316056212  $17.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: May 1, 2010
World, Excluding U.K. commonwealth

WINNER 2011 Michael L. Printz Award
2011 Children’s Notable Book
2011 Best Fiction for Young Adults (Top Ten)

A dystopian thriller set one hundred years in the future, in the gulf coast region, after an environmental collapse. here grounded oil tankers are being dissembled for parts by a rag tag group of workers, we meet Nailer, a teenage boy working the light crew. When an accident leads Nailer to discover an exquisite clipper ship beached during a recent hurricane, and the lone survivor, a beautiful and wealthy girl, Nailer finds himself at a crossroads.

Read on for more ALA award-winners from LBYR.

Dave the Potter

Caldecott Honor Book

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave
Laban Carrick Hill

HARDCOVER BOOK 9780316107310  $16.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: September 7, 2010
OPEN MARKET, Exclusive: US, Territories, Dependencies, Philippines and Canada

WINNER 2011 Coretta Scott King Award for Illustration
2011 Caldecott Honor Book
2011 Children’s Notable Book

In the tradition of the Caldecott-winning picture book Snowflake Bentley, this moving, lyrically told true story features Dave, a slave with an extraordinary talent for pottery. Laban Hill’s poetic text and Bryan Collier’s rich, evocative illustrations follow Dave as he goes through the steps to make a beautiful pot, and highlights thought-provoking themes of African American history, overcoming adversity, and the power of the artistic spirit. Some of Dave’s creations can now be seen at the Smithsonian Museum.

Ling & TIng

2011 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book

Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same!
Grace Lin

HARDCOVER BOOK 9780316024525  $14.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: July 1, 2010
OPEN MARKET, Exclusive: US, Territories, Dependencies, Philippines and Canada

2011 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book
2011 Children’s Notable Book

Grace Lin has proven that she has a great voice for young readers with the highly acclaimed middle grade novel/chapter book The Year of the Dog. She has always wanted to write a younger easy reader series in the vein of George and Martha, and her simple text and colorful art lend themselves perfectly to this growing genre. LING AND TING will bridge the gap between her picture books and her middle grade fiction for her growing legion of fans.

Ninth Ward

2011 Coretta Scott King Award Honor Book for Writing

Ninth Ward
Jewell Parker Rhodes

HARDCOVER BOOK 9780316043076  $15.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: August 16, 2010
World

2011 Coretta Scott King Award Honor Book for Writing
2011 Notable Children’s Books

A beautiful coming-of-age story set in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina. Lanesha is a young girl living in the New Orleans’s Ninth Ward with her adopted grandmother, Mama Ya-Ya. Abandoned by her peers because of her ability to see spirits, Lanesha longs for connection despite the strong love of Mama Ya-Ya.

Ninth Ward is a deeply emotional story about transformation and a celebration of resilience, friendship, and family–as only love can define it.

The Guardian of the Dead

2011 William C. Morris Award Finalist

Guardian of the Dead
Karen Healey

TRADE PAPERBACK 9780316044387  $8.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: August 3, 2011
World English

2011 William C. Morris Award Finalist
2011 Best Fiction for Young Adults

Now available in trade paperback, an intriguing YA urban fantasy in the tradition of Holly Black and Wicked Lovely. Ellie’s main concerns at her boarding school is  hanging with her best friend and Maori native,Kevin. That is, until a mysterious older woman appears.  Soon, Ellie is thrown into the world of Maori mythology in an all-out war with mist dwelling Maori fairy people who need human lives to gain immortality.

The Prince of Mist

2011 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

The Prince of Mist (International)
Carlos Ruiz Zafón

TRADE PAPERBACK 9780316091084  $11.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: May 4, 2010
Open Market, Exclusive Asia, Excluded Europe

2011 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

The New York Times bestseller from Shadow of the Wind author Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It is war time, and the Carver family decides to leave the city to settle in a small coastal town. But from the moment they cross the threshold of their new home, strange things begin to happen. Soon children Max and Alicia and their friend Roland find themselves in an adventure of sunken ships and enchanted statues that will change their lives forever.

Reckless

2011 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

Reckless (International)
Cornelia Funke

TRADE PAPERBACK 9780316127066  $9.99
LITTLE BROWN BKS YOUNG READERS, Little, Brown
US Pub: April 1, 2011
Open Market

2011 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

The long awaited international bestseller from Cornelia Funke now available as an International trade paperback. RECKLESS is the first adventure in a new series where the darkest fairy tales come to life. Jacob Reckless must fight his way through the world behind the mirror to save his brother Will, cursed to petrification, unless Jacob finds a way to break the spell.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: